RSS Feed

Now Showing

Posted on

I talked a few weeks ago about “Bridesmaids”, the new comedy with Kristin Wiig and a whole host of funny ladies. Let me tell you, I thought the movie was hilarious. Probably the raunchiest movie you’ll see about women’s pre-wedding celebrations but definitely full of laughs. I was thinking before I saw it (sneak-preview!) and friends have asked if it’s like “The Hangover”. It is and it isn’t. It’s hilarious – though, will probably not be as epic and celebrated as “The Hangover” – but it’s purpose is a little different. “The Hangover” celebrates the bachelor party while “Bridesmaids” makes fun of the pre-wedding activities and it’s growing importance to celebrating the commitment people make when they decide to get married. (That didn’t sound jaded or anything, did it?!) I’ve seen one or two previews from people that would be of the groomsmen variety and they were not positive about “Bridesmaids”. But it might be one of those movies you can only like if you know exactly how it feels when a bride wants you to buy a $500 bridesmaids dress (hasn’t happened to me) or when your maid-of-honor toast is followed up by another toast from the bridesmaid who has known the bride longer (I won’t comment on this one).

Are you going to see “Bridesmaids this weekend? Let me know what you think!

2 responses »

  1. I may not know what it’s like to have to buy the $500 dress, but I did have the maid-of-honor toast followed up by the other bridesmaid (not even family!!!!) and I thought I was the only one that had that happen. It’s nice to see that someone else has had that happen too. 🙂

    Reply
    • It wasn’t totally a big deal for me (I’m not too much of a diva) so I didn’t make it an ordeal. And my speech was actually about the bride AND the groom (the follow-up speech was JUST about the bride since they knew each other since they were little) so I felt like mine was more relevant to their actual marriage. So many people make it about THEIR relationship with the bride (or groom) but I was around for the beginning and development of the relationship which made my speech more relevant, I think 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

